Barcelona – Please Don’t Go (With Drums)

18 08 2009

I recently fell in love with a song called “Please Don’t Go” by Barcelona. The song is gorgeous and recently gained a good amount of added exposure when it was featured in a YouTube video of the Kuroshio Sea exhibit in Okinawa, the second-largest indoor aquarium in the world.

Even though the song is excellent in its original form, and I highly recommend purchasing the album (as I did), I kept finding myself trying to drum along to the song in my head. I finally decided that I had to record a drum track and then remaster the original with my track added. So I did.

As an introduction to the song, here’s the Kuroshio Sea video so you can hear the original version. (The video is well worth watching in its 5-minute entirety, both for the beautiful song and the beautiful footage. Whale sharks, can you even imagine? What an incredible exhibit. I will visit this someday.)

And then there’s my version with the drum track added. A few quick notes on this version:

  • First, I was aiming for a very ethereal drum track that would complement, rather than detract from, the dreamlike feel of the original version of the song, hence all the washy reverb. I realized there was a chance it would sound a little big-hair with that much reverb, but the cleaner, unprocessed recording just sounded like it was trying to compete with the piano. The verbier one blended into the strings much more nicely.
  • Second, I would like to point out that I am very humbly submitting this version of the song to the blogosphere, realizing full well that the original song was very well crafted without needing any interference on my part. I can just picture the members of Barcelona hearing this version and saying, “Oh man, what on earth did this guy do to our song?”
  • Third, I will be the first to admit that Rhett Sloanlake, the band’s drummer, could have laid down drums for this track much better than I did. I’m no professional; I’m just some guy with a coffeeshop in the middle of nowhere. In the unlikely event that anyone ever notices or hears this version, please know that it is being offered with much respect and out of love for the original song itself. This is the version I heard in my head every time I listened to the original, and thus decided I needed to actualize.

So, without further ado, here it is:

Barcelona – Please Don’t Go (With Drums)

http://tinyurl.com/r5yac6

And finally, here’s a link to the downloadable file of my remastered version with the drum track added. I have a request to make, however. If you intend to download this version, please, PLEASE support the original recording artist by FIRST buying the original track. It can be purchased for just 99 cents on iTunes (http://bit.ly/1zAVu) or ZunePass. Even better, buy the whole album (like I did), which is well worth owning.

Download Link: http://tinyurl.com/r5yac6

If you’re interested in more of my music (trust me, it’s nothing to get excited over), you can find me on MySpace at: http://www.myspace.com/robertedwinmusic

You can find Barcelona on MySpace at: http://www.myspace.com/barcelona
Barcelona’s official website is at: http://www.wearebarcelona.com
Buy the original version of Barcelona’s “Please Don’t Go” on iTunes: http://bit.ly/1zAVu

Actions

Information

7 responses

18 08 2009
Mom2

So, I can be honest here, right…even though this is open to the blogosphere? The original version had a hard time holding my attention. A little too slow, empty, drawn out, not sure of what words I want to use there. I loved the subtlety of how the drums started out, and I thought leant support to the whole song, strengthening it, and making it for me, more interesting to listen to. I’m not a ‘music person’. That’s just my opinion.

20 08 2009
Granny

I am not a ‘music person’ either. I could barely hear the words of the song. The drums were a plus, I thought. But, what I really thought was that I had never seen such an incredible aquarium and it’s was #2 in the world!!!

30 08 2009
Jennifer Brindley

I miss your writing.

31 08 2009
dziewczyna

This is really cool, Rob. I really enjoy the way you think about things. I listened to your version of the song and the original about 4 times each because I felt a difference, but couldn’t put my finger on it. I played the aquarium scene with both so I would have the same visual “feelings” on each. I really like your remix with the drums, and as a song for regular “listening” music, I’d probably prefer it. But as far as the meaning of the entire song — lyrics, music, etc — I feel like the original version is more accurate to the emotion and “story”. When I listen to the original, I hear a guy who is offering the barest, most honest plea —

“Oh, please don’t go
I want you so
I can’t let go
For I lose control”

The original song (no drums) is as bare and honest as that plea. His voice is quiet, and the lack of drums make the song very fragile…like he has summoned everything in him to give this plea, without “losing control”, but beyond this, he would fall apart. His heart would break…I don’t know. The brevity of the lyrics also speak to this idea — as though, if I have to say more, I will break down…this is all I can offer before the pain overwhelms me.

Anyway, that was, I’m sure, WAY more analysis of the two versions than you were particularly interested in. But I was feeling really moody tonight so it was actually really nice to listen to that song 8 times. Lol… I still like your remix a lot. Thanks for posting this. And the youtube video was AWESOME. Wow.

7 09 2009
Corrie

I actually really like this a lot! I like around 2:17ish and 2:40 where it really feels like it’s growing! Very strong. Thanks for sharing, Rob! I agree with above with having it be much more of a preferred listening for me with the drums. It gives it much more. And the reverb is not too much at all, but I’m no professional at all, especially when it comes to drums. Nice work anyway!

11 09 2009
Rob in Gallup

Thanks for your comments and for listening, guys! 🙂

15 09 2009
LJ

Hey Rob–I love what you did and was getting the chills all over again!!! Thanks so much for your generous creativity. I have purchased Barcelona’s original track and am psyched to add your killer version to my library too.

Leave a Reply

