Orphans

28 01 2009

It’s been a long time coming, but I’m finally posting an original recording to my blog. After seven long months in which I have done very little in the way of creative expression, particularly musical, I finally have something to share.

I’ve had orphans on my mind thanks to some thought-provoking blog reads. There are so many children in the world desperate for a family. My heart goes out to them, and my hat is off to those who find it in their hearts to adopt these children into their families.

While thinking along these lines, one song in particular always comes to mind. It’s mostly because I’m a sucker for Disney movies and their soundtracks. The song is from the movie “The Rescuers.” It’s the theme song for Penny, an orphan girl in need of being rescued. How many children are out there hoping, praying, waiting for someone to love them?

I finally sat down to play and record it, and hopefully I manage to post it on my blog correctly. The arrangement is original.  (For any techie geeks interested, I record on an M-Audio Ozonic keyboard that interfaces via Firewire to a Sony Vaio PC. I do the recording and mixing in Reason 3.0. It’s a three part process – grand piano, then strings, then synth.)


Someone’s Waiting for You

by Carol Connors, Sammy Fain, and Ayn Robbins

Be brave, little one
Make a wish for each sad little tear
Hold your head up though no one is near
Someone’s waiting for you

Don’t cry, little one
There’ll be a smile where a frown used to be
You’ll be part of the love that you see
Someone’s waiting for you

Always keep a little prayer in your pocket
And you’re sure to see the light
Soon there’ll be joy and happiness
And your little world will be bright

Have faith, little one
‘Til your hopes and your wishes come true
You must try to be brave, little one
Someone’s waiting to love you

If you’d like to download an MP3 version of this recording, you can find it here: http://www.rlserver.com/someones-waiting.mp3

Actions

Information

6 responses

29 01 2009
Cilla

Thank you, Rob. This music was so needed tonight.

29 01 2009
Mom2

I’m crying………..

I think it is beautiful.

I’m not a techie geek but I think it is fascinating how you can do that;
artistic and technical talent!

29 01 2009
onemom

First of all – that is incredibly beautiful. Second, why didn’t you ever tell me you have a blog? You always leave your email, but not a link to your website. I feel bad that I didn’t know this before (found you quite by accident). I’ll be adding you to my roll.

Kerry
(OneMom)

29 01 2009
Rob in Gallup

Kerry, thanks so much. I haven’t been able to figure out why, while logged into WordPress, it sometimes makes my name a clickable link to my blog, and other times it just shows up as text. I think it may have something to do with the individual settings of the blog on which I’m posting, but I’m not sure.

I’ll be sure to add your blog to my blogroll as well. It’s been a while since I did any maintenance on that, and there are a few blogs that I read regularly (yours included) that should be on my roll.

29 01 2009
onemom

actually you have me on your roll (you spelled Kerry wrong though). I’m glad I found you. I’ve been reading through some of your posts … I love your observations and the things you’re writing about – very engaging (as your comments on my blog always are).

3 02 2009
dean

Thank You…. very beautiful. Peace

Leave a Reply

