Pumpkin

30 10 2008

I was inspired by a website I saw last week and decided to carve a pumpkin.

The site is run by Ray Villafane, an artist who sculpts toys and collectibles. He also carves pumpkins, but not the normal way. It’s a little more like sculpting rather than traditional pumpkin carving. You can see his absolutely amazing pumpkins at www.villafanestudios.com/pumpkins.htm. He has a tutorial, so I picked up some supplies and a pumpkin on my way home from work today and decided to give it a shot.

Now, keep in mind that Ray’s a professional and I, on the other hand, haven’t sculpted anything since 8th grade. But I was reasonably happy with my first endeavor tonight.

First, I blocked out the deep areas, mostly the eye sockets and around the nose.

I contemplated sketching a face to see how I wanted it to look, but then I decided to let the natural shape of the pumpkin dictate that instead. I honestly didn’t know whether it would be happy, sad, or angry, or whether it would have teeth or be smiling or what. I just started working and let the pumpkin decide what it wanted to look like. He ended up with a big upper lip and sort of a wry grin.

Next, I started to bring more definition to the eyes, nose and lips.

And then, about four hours after I started, he was finished. Again, not amazing by any standards, but cool enough that I will definitely have to give this a try again. Here’s the final product:

I thin he’s fun. I’ll take him to work to decorate the break room table tomorrow. I have no idea how a pumpkin carved like this holds up as far as decomposition goes. If it lasts the day, I’ll take it to Granny and Grandad’s house tomorrow night.

For those of you wondering, I used some simple clay sculpting tools I picked up at the local art supply store. I didn’t have a ribbon loop as suggested by Villafane, so I used a plain old vegetable peeler to prepare the surface area, and then I used the tool fourth from the left (the tiny, triangular one) in the photo below to do about 90% of the rest.

So there you have it. I will probably carve a much simpler pumpkin the regular way with the kids when they get home from school, but I hope you’ll all enjoy this one.

Happy Halloween!

Actions

Information

8 responses

31 10 2008
penne pasta

My first thought: Grandad’s been eating too many carrots, again.
My second thought: Rob of Gallup has too much time on his hands.
My third thought: Yowza! Your talent’s being wasted on pumpkins!

31 10 2008
Edie C.

Very cool, Rob. Great job!

31 10 2008
Mom2

That’s fantastic! And not all of us could even come close to accomplishing anything like that even if we did give it our best shot. I heard that you should spray a solution of bleach and water (1part bleach to 3 parts water) on it and then dry it thoroughly. Bring it in overnight, and it’s supposed to last a while, I think.

31 10 2008
Dad2

Great job if you hurry Hosteen can make a mold and you can cast it in bronze!

31 10 2008
Granny

Rob, we are absolutely amazed at your talent as a sculptor ! Pennepasta has the right idea – you must work on another medium that will last a little longer. Good for Karla to suggest how you can preserve this one to make it to our house on Halloween. And, John, with the best idea of all – cast it in bronze !!!! What fun – Happy Halloween All !

31 10 2008
Danica

Wow, that is pretty darn cool!

31 10 2008
Emily Straw

This so cool! It reminds me a little bit of the faces on The Labyrinth that tell them to go back… 🙂

31 10 2008
Janna

Now – if you’d emptied him out (and put a hole or two in the back of his head) and stuck a candle in him – the effect would be really cool! I like ‘im.

Leave a Reply

