Game Show

5 10 2008

Before I die, I would love to be on a game show.

I don’t watch much television these days, but when I do, I love to watch game shows. I love to see ordinary people caught up in the excitement of the challenge. Real life goes on pause for a moment, and a game takes center stage.

I often wonder which game I would most enjoy being on. The answer used to be The Price is Right — that is, when Bob Barker was still hosting the show. I don’t care much for the new Drew Carey version.

I love Jeopardy, but I don’t think I’m quite well-versed enough in general trivia to be a true competitor. When I was 16, the Latin teacher at my high school was a Jeopardy contestant and won something like $60,000 over the course of a few days.

The Weakest Link was brilliant in its day. I wish that one had stayed on the air longer. There’s a funny, similar show on the Game Show Network called Russian Roulette in which contestants also stand in a circle and answer trivia questions, but if they answer wrong, they risk literally having the floor drop out from underneath them and they vanish from the game. I don’t want to be on that show, but it’s fun to watch.

Wheel of Fortune would probably be my best bet if I were actually hoping to win. I find it hilarious that in other countries that have their own versions of the show, the person who turns the letters is still called “Vanna,” as if it were a title rather than a name.

I think if I were able to choose, I would want to be a contestant on Survivor. It would be difficult since I’m not particularly athletic, but I’ve watched enough seasons to understand that there is also quite a mental aspect to that game. Mostly, I would love to be on Survivor because I think I would learn a lot about myself, both good and bad, in the process. I wouldn’t mind that million-dollar prize at the end if it came to that, but really I’m more interested in the experience itself. If they made another season of The Mole, I would love to do that, too, for the same reasons as Survivor.

Other favorites that stand out in my mind include Fear Factor, Deal or No Deal, Family Feud, and Match Game.

I’m interested to hear from those of you who read my blog. If you could choose to be a contestant on one game show, which would you choose, and why?

Actions

Information

15 responses

5 10 2008
Terri

If I had to choose a game show to be it would be survivor, because just the whole experience of surviving on an island some where and building me character and overall learning more about myself good or bad along wiht others I have never met. Great Blog Rob!

5 10 2008
Terri

If I had to choose a game show to be it would be survivor, because just the whole experience of surviving on an island some where and building me character and overall learning more about myself good or bad along with others I have never met before. Great Blog Rob!

5 10 2008
Emily Straw

Hi Rob! I didn’t realize we had the same dream!! Although my pick would definately be Family Feud. Do you want to go on with me?? 🙂 Or Win, Lose, or Draw if it was still around, because I kick butt at Pictionary 🙂

5 10 2008
Jenn

Dude. Don’t forget the Lyrics. Totally.

Oh, wait. Does American Idol count as a game show?

5 10 2008
tigerlilysandybanks

I think that I would be on something fairly mindless like Wheel because Jeopardy is way too smart, Survivor is way too athletic, and I don’t know near enough about music to be on that new one, where you have to sing the lyrics, whatever that’s called, with Wayne Brady. OOH! I know! I’d be on password. I think I’d be good at that one. I love that game!

6 10 2008
Dad 2

For me it would be Pinks and Pass Time, it’s a car guy thing you might not understand.

6 10 2008
justspeaz

Deal or No Deal would be my pick for sure 🙂

6 10 2008
Janna

For me, its totally Wheel of Fortune. I’m a crossword puzzle junkie – what can I say?

6 10 2008
pennepasta

Before you die, you might be a live contestant on your own Survivor show! Don’t hold your breath for the million dollars, though…..the gov’t already spent it!
My favorite was What’s My Line, but it was quite awhile ago. Granny would remember…..

6 10 2008
Leah

Hmm. I’d have to go with Smarter than a 5th grader. Because I am. 🙂

But does anyone remember the game Concentration? That was my FAVORITE game when I was a kid – I always wanted to be on it.

6 10 2008
Mom2

I like Sorry! and Battleship, but of course neither one of those are game shows. The only ‘reality game shows’ I’ve watched I would be horrible at as a participant, take The Apprentice for example, but the creative ideas they have to come up with fascinate me. I fortunately, have stopped watching most reality and or game shows, but there are some fun ones out there to be sure.

7 10 2008
Janna

Personally, I’d like to see Rob in Gallup on Dancing With the Stars…

7 10 2008
Rob in Gallup

Oh, Janna. Somewhere in the world, there is a list of things you definitely DO NOT want to see, and “Rob in Gallup on Dancing With the Stars” is most assuredly at or near the top of that list.

7 10 2008
Jesse

Out where you live, you could be on Survivor in a matter of minutes. Of course, it would be your very own version but the learning curve would be a lot steeper.

My pick, CASH CAB!!! How has nobody picked this????

7 10 2008
justspeaz

Oh yeah! I forgot about that show! I love that one!

Leave a Reply

